Fat Bikes and Enduro Racing Do Mix

I’ve never raced an Enduro.  I figured there’s a reason why they’ve become so popular.  Timed segments that test your downhill descending skills (of which mine are mediocre) mixed with some un-timed climbing segments (of which I’m decent at).  The Kamikaze Bike Games were in town, and racing was in the air.  I rode the Fall Century on Saturday with a Wounded Warrior for Disabled Sports, so I wasn’t able to race the XC Mountain Bike Race (unfortunately, the schedules conflicted).

riding up to Watterson with my partner Darrin, who's doing it with the power of his ARMS!! GET SOME!!

riding up to Watterson with my partner Darrin, who’s doing it with the power of his ARMS!! GET SOME!!

The Enduro was on Sunday, and I was jonsin’ to get dirty – so what the heck?  I decided to do the Enduro on the fatty bike.

I inflated the tires to a whopping 12psi (I pinch flatted a couple weeks ago riding hard on Richter at 5psi – so I wanted to play it safe).  I kept my 32:21 gearing, which in hindsight was a mistake because I kept spinning out through the whole race, and the climbs are un-timed so I should’ve geared for the descents… rookie mistake!

coming down Follow Me

coming down Follow Me

No mechanicals, no flats.  The bike handled some of most relentless trails Mammoth has to offer (Skid marks, Follow Me, Bullet, etc).  Sure, I was beat up, using all the forearm travel I could muster.  By the end of the last lap, which is a top to bottom run of Skid Marks to Follow Me, my hands were practically numb and I could barely find enough strength in my digits to pressure the brake levers… that was a first.

nearing the finish line

crossing the finish line

Most importantly – I had a blast!!  I finished around 20th place, but I didn’t crash once, and I rode pretty smoothly… my times were solid, especially considering I couldn’t pedal hard because of my stupid gearing… so overall, I was stoked.  I’d love to give it a shot on a 5-6″ travel bike with some gears :).  Or not… I don’t know if I remember how to shift gears… too complicated…

before the ride - photo by Kurt Gensheimer / MTBR.com

before the ride – photo by Kurt Gensheimer / MTBR.com

Anyhoo, here’s a good article in MTBR about the Kamikaze Enduro (and they mention me and my fatbike on page 2, so give it a read)

Here’s another article from Fat-Bike.com that my friend Hunter wrote – He raced his fat bike in the XC, Dual Slalom, and Kamikaze – and grabbed podiums in all categories!!

This entry was posted in MTB Racing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fat Bikes and Enduro Racing Do Mix

  1. ss29er says:

    Reblogged this on .

    Like

Leave a Reply

