Crank Brothers Stand By Their Product

I don’t usually do “product reviews” – but wanted to say something really quickly.  The other day, I was climbing Starkweather Trail, when “snap!” — My left pedal sheered off at the spindle.  I was right in the middle of a steep climb, giving a good amount of torque.  I was a little pissed off at first.  Bummed I had to hike the rest of the climb back to my car.  Then I realized, I’ve put over 4,000′ miles on my trusty Crank Bros Eggbeater 11 pedals.  They’ve never been serviced.  Not once.  I’ve bashed them into countless rocks, bruised my shins on countless hike-a-bikes, and have basically beaten the pulp out of them.  They are one of the lightest pedals on the market (174g per pair).  So I’m pretty stoked they’ve lasted as long as they have.

Clean break, snapped right off the titanium spindle

Clean break, snapped right off the titanium spindle

I went to the CB website, filled out a short form, got an RA# and mailed the pedals out on Monday.  On Wednesday, I got a confirmation they’d been received.  On Thursday, I got a confirmation that both spindles were replaced, and the pedals received their “spa treatment”.  On Friday the pedals were sitting on my doorstep at 1pm.  Pretty dang amazing customer service.  Crank Brothers not only make bomber products, but stands by them, and handles their business in a blazing fast time frame.

Stoked to have my pedals back –  Good as new!!photo(2)

This entry was posted in Gear Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crank Brothers Stand By Their Product

Leave a Reply

