Rarely Ridden Gem of the Eastern Sierra – Glass Mountain Traverse

Are you kidding me?  How come I've never ridden here before?

Are you kidding me? How come I’ve never ridden here before? – photo by Jen

I was chatting with my friend Jen a while back.   We were going back and forth brainstorming great fall rides that encompass the majesty of our home area.  The whole process of planning out future epic rides is one of my favorite parts of exploratory adventure riding.  I do love day dreaming about epic rides… Oh, yeah… forgot what I was writing about for a minute… (as the white fluffy is falling out my window right now)…

Out of nowhere, Jen asked, “You ever done the Glass Mountain Traverse?” After a moment to ponder, I stuttered “Um, no.  Don’t think I have.  I’ve ridden up and down Glass Mountain Ridge, but never heard of the traverse.”

That was all it took.  Jen dangled a few more pieces of power bait in front of me.  She’d done this ride a handful of times and was eager to share it.  I couldn’t wait to unwrap it like a Reese’s peanut butter cup.  It starts near Bald Mountain, and then wraps around the east side of Glass Mountain, finishing with a rip-roaring descent near Squaw’s Teet, back down to Benton Rd.  She had me at Bald.  See the map below.  Pretty spectacular red line don’t ya think?

Views like this are around every bend

Views like this are around every bend

We decided to ride it a few days after an early season snow storm.  This firmed up some of the trails that encounter heavier ATV traffic.  Even though it was mid- October, a lot of the trees were still turning, making the scenery that much more impacting.

Golden reddish yellow hues of fall abound

Golden reddish yellow hues of fall abound

All in all, this ride is about 42 miles with 5,500′ of climbing, but could easily be made into a 100 mile loop or combined with other riding in the area for a multi-day epic (stay tuned).  This ride is a must do for anybody looking for a very moderate one day jaunt that explores remote areas around Mammoth Lakes that are rarely explored via pedal power.  The vantage points attained on this route open up views and aspects the will leave you in awe of the area, and douse you with that overall addictive feeling of “f-yeah” as the ride culminates.  We did this ride back in mid- October, and it’s now early December as I write (crazy busy with newborn and trying to finish Drop In has hindered my blogging time)… and thinking back to that ride has me grinning and dreaming and planning… looking forward to next fall, when we can share this treasure with other like-minded friends.  But for now…

Jen, cruising up a big open area near Bald Mountain

Jen, cruising up a big open area near Bald Mountain

A new friend I just met via these here interwebs sent me some GPX files for a couple enticing rides in the Kern River Valley… I’m thinking those might be fun to hit up when I need a break between the pow turns that are itching to be had here… Until then… Send me a note if you’d like the GPX file for this ride… I’d be happy to share.

Glass Mountain Traverse Map

Glass Mountain Traverse Map

glass_mountain_traverse_elevation

This entry was posted in Favorite Rides and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rarely Ridden Gem of the Eastern Sierra – Glass Mountain Traverse

  1. Likes I have to ride this!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Alan's Glass Mountain gem | Trails and Tours - Bikepacking

  3. ss29er says:

    Reblogged this on .

    Like

Leave a Reply

