Weekend Trip to North Carolina – Day 2: Dupont National Forest

Entrance to the Forest

Entrance to the Forest

Found this out front of a Forest Service home next to the trail.  Always time for B-Ball

Found this out front of a Forest Service home next to the trail. Always time for B-Ball

Back to Day 1 – Weekend Trip to North Carolina: Tsali and Asheville

So glad I slept in my trunk and hit the trailhead of Dupont at 8:30am.  Nobody around.  41 degrees out.  Banged out an epic loop.  Hard to beat Tsali, but this ride rocked my world.  Do it Do it like Ben Stiller in Starsky and Hutch.

IMG_9478

Reasonover Creek Trail

 

A few river crossings, but they all had boulders to walk across.

Crossing Reasonover Creek.

Check out the Best of Dupont in 18 miles ride on the MTB Project website – and tack on Pitch Pine and Three Lakes trails for even more singledingle.  You gotta ride Ridgeline trail!  Another one that i’d ride over and over if i could.  Top shelf.  Aged single malt for bikes.  The new Turkey Knob trail is pretty top shelf too.  Definite highlights of this ride.

About to bomb down one of the best trails in the country - Ridgeline, baby!!

About to bomb down one of the best trails in the country – Ridgeline, baby!!

I forced myself to stop just once to grab a quick photo on Ridgeline - after this, it was all flojo mojo

I forced myself to stop just once to grab a quick photo on Ridgeline – after this, it was all flojo mojo

Took a break to see a couple cool waterfalls

Took a break at Wintergreen Falls

Anyway.  After 20 miles I was toasted out.  By the time I finished my 3 hour drive back to ATL (btw, the first hour was through the most beautiful fall foliage I’ve ever seen in my life), I could barely stay awake enough to stumble in to Mellow Mushroom and order my 1/2 holy shitake and 1/2 buffalo chicken pizza with a Sweetwater IPA.  The weekend was a blur, as all the best ones are.

View of one of the lakes from Three Lakes Trail - Dupont National Forest

View of one of the lakes from Three Lakes Trail – Dupont National Forest

A mellow section of Pine Pitch Trail

A mellow section of Pine Pitch Trail

I like this B-Ball Hoop so much I had to take two pics of it

I like this B-Ball Hoop so much I had to take two pics of it

Back to work and the Durka.

Durka Durka!

Durka Durka!

Map of the trail system

Map of the trail system

Helpful Links for riding Dupont:

 

This entry was posted in Favorite Rides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Trip to North Carolina – Day 2: Dupont National Forest

  1. Pingback: Weekend Trip to North Carolina – Day 1: Tsali and Asheville | Dirty Teeth – Alan's Mountain Biking Adventures

Leave a Reply

