Ride Report: Chicopee Woods – Gainesville, Georgia

What a nice trail sign.

What a nice trail sign.

Alright.  This is it.  Time to go home.  Been a whirlwind for two months.  Miss my family.  Miss my home.  Pretty stoked on the trip though.  Aside from working my balls off, I did manage to ride my bike a bunch over 8 weekends.

Trailhead signage - let the fun begin

Trailhead signage – let the fun begin

I got to ride in 5 new states: Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Alabama.  I hit about new 15 trail networks and 7 IMBA Epics.  I’m glad I blogged to remember all these places or else they’d poof into the bowels of my poor memory.

A squiggly section on the Tortoise Trail

A squiggly section on the Tortoise Trail

My last ride in the ATL was Chicopee Woods.  Not sure what took me so long to ride here, but it was worth the wait, and definitely icing on the cake.  It’s well-maintained singletrack nirvana.  Such a fun, flowy network.  I did the clockwise outer loop consisting of Tortoise and White Tail, and did the two inner loops – Copper Gap and Flying Squirrel.  There are two funny climbs called “champagne climb”and  “granny climb” but they aren’t any harder or longer than the climbing you’ll find on Copper Gap.  The loop was about 13 miles total.  Flying Squirrel is the highlight of the loop, with some of the fastest, ripper singletrack of the network, while Copper Gap is very similar, but with steeper climbs and descents and slightly more tech.

A rare photo of myself riding - thanks, Chris!

A rare photo of myself riding – thanks, Chris!

I didn’t ride Red Tail or the newer Coyote Loop across street.  I flatted towards the end of the ride and decided that was that.  I was ready to have one final Sweetwater IPA with Chris in the parking lot.  Lotsa great memories.  On to the next.  Give the bike a shower.  Box it up.  Drop it at the UPS Store.  Start planning the next adventure…

A flowy section of the Tortoise Trail

A flowy section of the Tortoise Trail

Our bikes were tired.

Our bikes were tired.

The reward.  An ice cold Sweetwater IPA in the parking lot.  I'm gonna miss Sweetwater!

The reward. An ice cold Sweetwater IPA in the parking lot. I’m gonna miss Sweetwater!

A nice hot shower before packing up to go home.

A nice hot shower before packing up to go home.

Chicopee Trail Map

Chicopee Trail Map

Helpful Links:

This entry was posted in Favorite Rides and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ride Report: Chicopee Woods – Gainesville, Georgia

  1. Will says:

    I moved out here three years ago and I am lucky enough to call these my home trails. I too ride a hardtail, but with a suspension fork. I’m thinking of going full rigid to drop some weight and mainly not deal with the seasonal maintenance a fork requires. How’s your experience been with a rigid front been? Would you recommend it to someone who rides trails like Copperhead a lot?

    Liked by 1 person

    • ss29er says:

      I like fully rigid for most everything, but keep a squishy fork for some stuff. I like the responsive handling, lightweight , and simplicity. But if you’re doing long techy rides, your forearms pay for it/ – give it a shot! Make sure you’re tubeless so u can ride lower pressures and take some of the edge off 🙂 – happy riding!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

