My Socks are Better than Yours – Long Term Review of Swiftwick Socks

It seems I’ve been fielding a bunch of “gear-related” questions these days.  It got me thinking… brain freeze…

I try lots of stuff.  When I figure out good stuff, I’m stoked.  I stick to it.  Kinda like Fonzie and his closet full of the same white t-shirts and blue jeans.

The Fonz - Doesn't it look like he just knocked that guy out with a power fart?

The Fonz – Doesn’t it look like he just knocked that guy out with a power fart?

Anyhoo.  SOCKS.  Really hard to find good socks.  Socks that withstand overgrown toe nails and the friction of a cycling shoe, which in my case, often means hiking shoe.  Socks that are comfortable on your feet, let those barking dogs breathe, and again ENDURE through the rigors of a mountain biking life with a stinky foot shoved in it.

Swiftwick.  Hands down.  Best.  Socks.  Ever.  They don’t know I’m writing this.  No loot or free schwag (unfortunately – cuz I’d take it).  Side note – I LOVE Darn Tough socks for skiing/snowboarding and winter fat biking… also super bomber… but that’s another day…

In 2011, while riding at the Topeak-Ergon Camp in Sedona, AZ – I met this poco loco singlespeeder named Dejay Birtch.  He was slangin’ some Singlespeed Superman socks out of his pedophile van.  He swore up and down, they were the best socks ever.  I dropped two fives, size large, and they were mine.  Found out later they were Swiftwick Vision compression socks.  Little did I know they’d become my “go-to” sock for countless mountain biking endeavors, endurance races, and plane rides.  Just the right amount of compression, and bomber construction.

Swiftwick Singlespeed Superman socks - after 3 years of use.

Swiftwick Singlespeed Superman socks – after 3 years of use.

Holy sock that Jesus would be proud of.

Holy sock that Jesus would be proud of.  Can’t believe it took 3 years to poke that toe out!

An example of the torture I put these socks through - photo taken after the 8 Hours of Lake Tahoe race.

An example of the torture I put these socks through – photo taken after the 8 Hours of Lake Tahoe race.

After three years of practically living in these units, my big toe finally put a hole through one.  A sad day.  My toes have put holes in other, bigger-named, more expensive socks after one or two long rides.  These super socks have been through multiple 24 hour races and big, big days in the saddle. Lucky for me, Dejay, who put on Singlespeed Worlds this year in AK, made a bunch of custom socks for the event, and I scored a couple pair to replace my old pair 🙂

My newest Swiftwick socks that I picked up at SSWC.  Thanks, Dejay!

My newest Swiftwick socks that I picked up at SSWC. Thanks, Dejay!

I’ve since started wearing Swiftwick at work (where I’m often standing for 12 hours a day, running around with a camera).  My feet are thankful.  I’ve got everything from the zeros to the twelves (Swiftwick sock code for length – short to long), and every pair I own has been great.  My absolute favorite sock for cycling is the Swiftwick 5 Vision (the SSWC socks pictured above).  I wear size large – hint, hint Holiday time, what???:)

This entry was posted in Gear Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

