2015 Freedom Ride: Spring Creek Trail in Steamboat Springs, CO

Jungle riding at its best.

Jungle riding at its best.

Fourth of July, 2015 was spent in Steamboat Springs, ColoRADo this year.  Word on the street is that out of the 6 highest touted pyrotechnicians in the country, 3 live in the “Boat”.  We figured it might be a nice spot to kick back and watch the fireworks after floating down the Yampa River.

But first, let’s take another bike selfie.

Surrounded by aspens and tacky velcro dirt below.

Surrounded by aspens and tacky velcro dirt below.

Can’t be in The Boat and not take a bike ride.  That would be sacrilegious.  So I decided to see what all the buzz was about on the Spring Creek Trail.  It’s an out and back that leaves right from town, which I always love.  I can leave the girlies snoozing in the hotel room and slip out into my head without leaving them carless if they decide to jam out for some reason.

Lush vibes - you'd think I was in South America.

Lush.

Once on trail, I felt like I was in Costa Rica.  Couldn’t believe the rain forest vibe that was going on so close to town.  It was lush, jungle riding with 4′ tall grass and wildflowers closing in on me like those crazy inflatable windsock people, as I made my way up the narrow singletrack ribbon.  ScaryDancer12-3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Half the time I felt like I was riding in a maze with high walls, and whenever I popped out, it was either for a bridge crossing of the creek, or to slip through an aspen grove.  Quite magical indeed.  It’s basically one big climb to the top that gains 1,500′ over 5.5 miles.  Manageable for the most part with couple strong efforts sprinkled in.  The sound of water flowing down the creek was soothing and overpowered the wheezing created by my inadequate lungs.

Flowers!!

Flowers!!

I didn’t spend much time dilly dallying at the top – as I just wanted to start descending as quickly as possible.  I knew the fab schralping that awaited, and wanted to get going before the trail got too crowded.  I bombed down the flowing singletrack, making sure my bar ends steered clear of the grassy walls.

Wifey at the parade.  Dragons and horse dookie , yahoo!!

Wifey at the parade. Dragons and horse dookie , yahoo!!

Molly!!

Molly!!

Lucy!!  Out front of the kick ass Rabbit Ears Motel - I highly recommend to everyone.

Lucy!! Out front of the kick ass Rabbit Ears Motel – I highly recommend to everyone.

The girlies!!

The girlies!!

No better way to enjoy the 4th than with a freedom ride, floating the Yampa River with Lucy, family time kickin it at the parade route, and the best fireworks show I’ve ever seen with a Buzzcock English Ale in hand.  It’s nice to be FREE.  Let it ring!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Favorite Rides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

